Create and use your own mantra library

Although I can appreciate the focus of having a favorite mantra in life, I have found myself using numerous and varied mantras to handle moments that come up.

Tired on a jog:  One more step. *inhale exhale*

Feeling intimidated by the day:  Just keep going. 

Seeing a pregnant woman:  You are classy.  Head up and smile.

Overwhelmed in the middle of a project:  It’s okay.  Do a little more.

In the presence of women clearly more physically attractive than I:  My husband loves and accepts me as I am.

Hearing the pipes connected to our [only] toilet make rather loud noises after flushing:  If the toilet breaks/there is a major plumbing issue, you will survive.

This technique can be used by your best self to encourage your less-than-best self, to help keep perspective, to move slightly more gracefully through awkward mental moments than might have happened without the mantra.

I am lovable even when I am not particularly graceful.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Create and use your own mantra library

  1. Well said my friend…..I have used “I am no less than” and “I love and accept myself and deserve the love and acceptance”. I have been forgetting to use these so thanks for reminding my…love you friend.

Leave a Reply

