Pleasure evolution and physical devolution

I love hot showers.  Taking them is one of my favorite parts of the day.  In the shower this morning I was thinking about a rather odd work meeting I had yesterday.  So involved was I in thought that I really didn’t know whether or not I had already washed my face.  Thoughts can become pleasure robbers.  Instead of paying attention to the glorious sensation of hot water on my skin and the light aroma of lavender hovering around me (which told me that my body was clean, thank you.), I was mentally REattending a work meeting??  That is not enjoying life.  Washing my face for possibly the second time, I REreminded myself to pay attention to pleasure.

Since the bathroom was steamy, I stepped out of the shower and vigorously waved my towel toward the window to shoo out some of the moisture.  *tweak*  I felt that sensation in my neck that has historically preceded a few days of neck pain and neanderthal posture.  Over the course of the following hour, I indeed felt myself undergo a devolutionary process.  Before I become a primate or a tadpole or something, I am writing these words about pleasure- even when there is pain.  The lesson about paying attention to pleasure was so fresh in my mind that I couldn’t help reveling in how good it felt to lie down with the heating pad under my neck.  And it was good to notice feeling good.

It’s up to us to highlight those moments of positivity, and to be flexible enough to shift our definitions of what it means to feel good from day to day.  If I had known yesterday that today I would have to spend a substantial amount of time on the couch due to a sore neck, I might have felt sorry for my future self.  Today, I am happy to have a couch, a heating pad, and time to use both.

 

One thought on “Pleasure evolution and physical devolution

  1. Nice on Karen…indeed mindfulness is key to enjoying what is and being present…thanks for the reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

