Life is not fair. Have a cigar.

I have been slightly obsessed to the point of being obnoxious with what I perceive to be justice in a world that is not fair.  What has made the obsession obnoxious is the fact that I have been making my imperfect and not entirely wise self the judge.  It is correct of me to admit that I do not deserve the position of Sole Justice Distributor.  When I can, I do enjoy creating small “justices”.  This has, though, added to my illusion of control over life’s nature.

The truth is, I am not in control of justice distribution.  I can decide how to spend my time and energy.  And it kind of stops there.

A couple of months ago, while heading past a business complex, I was driving next to a man in his fifties in his shiny forest-green BMW, smoking a cigar.  He looked completely relaxed and content, leisurely.  I felt like I was seeing an illustration of inner peace.  Looking at him made me extremely happy because he was taking a moment to savor what he has in life.  He created a moment for himself and he appeared to be entirely involved in enjoying that moment.

He was having that moment even though life is not fair.  Bad things have happened to him.  He has felt afraid.  He has heard about the heinous crimes committed against innocent people and he knows about crimes against humanity.  He also knows people who act like complete jerks but get their way anyway.  He has been wronged many times, however aware or unaware he may be.  There are a plethora of forms that what we call life’s unfairness takes, as we all know.

Something dawned on me as this blog was brewing in my brain.  Sometimes when life is not fair, it means that I am receiving something I may not deserve.  I may have gotten away with something.  I am being treated better than another person, who is just as valuable as I am.  When I have thought about life not being fair, I have usually considered myself as the unlucky one who is being hurt and disappointed.  I have often neglected to bring to mind those less fortunate than I.  This is the case even though I am a person who is dedicated to practicing gratitude; I have repeatedly lost perspective when thinking about justice by getting mired in self-centeredness.  So, yes, we can all be thankful that I am NOT the world’s Sole Justice Distributor.

Good things happen.  Bad things happen.  What we consider good or bad depends on who we are, but we have to deal with both, whoever we are.  The words from above return to me.  I can decide how to spend my time and energy.  I can obsess about life “not being fair” and absurdly trying to mentally fight that fact, which sometimes works in my favor.  Sounds like crazymaking to me.  I’d rather say to myself, “Good things happen and bad things happen.  It’s part of the life experience.” and follow that up with getting on with my life.

For me, the cigar is not a cigar.  I’d rather create other pleasures for myself.  But Cigar man has been an excellent reminder for me to actually DO that, in spite of life not being “fair”.

One of my cigars, savored yesterday.

One thought on “Life is not fair. Have a cigar.

Leave a Reply

